top of page

Chapter History

The need to work within the communities that we resided brought about the vision to charter a chapter within the river parishes of St. James, St. John and St. Charles.  The visionaries, Mary Carpenter, Erika Love, Claudette Luke, Charlene Williams and Evangeline Davis, active sorors of Bayou Lafourche Area Alumnae Chapter (BLAAC), made the initial contact with the Regional Director, Soror Mae Frances Rowlett to begin the process. 


Changing the demographic data of BLAAC and locating sorors that might be interested in the formation of the chapter was a great challenge.  We faced the challenge of worthiness of a chapter in our area and the number of sorors necessary to form the chapter.  After many long months of discussions at the regional level, the number needed was supplied.


Soror Gwendolyn Harrison, also previously of BLAAC, was also instrumental in making many contacts.  With the combined efforts of these sorors, all requirements were met in order to begin the process. 


Mae Frances Rowlett, Southwest Regional Director, established that we were to be chartered on March 23, 2013.  The chartering ceremony was held at the First Community Antioch Baptist Church Family Center in Lutcher, Louisiana with twenty-seven sorors present for the chartering. 


The first chapter meeting brought about the election of officers that were as follows: Mary J. Carpenter, President; Madeline Jasmine-Bourgeois, Vice-President; KarmaTaneece Bailey, Treasurer; Dina Perkins, Financial Secretary; Markquelyn Ursin, Recording Secretary and Evangeline Davis, Corresponding Secretary.

Charter Members


   Veronica Alexander   

KarmaTaneece Bailey

Kathie Bailey 

Shelita Bailey

Meghan Borne  

Madeline Bourgeois

Tricia Bush

Mary J. Carpenter 

Evangeline Davis*

Ashley Dumas

Shawane Fletcher

Starlette Gordon 

Sandra Horne

Connie Jackson

R. Schuyler Jarrow  

Erika Love

Claudette Luke*  

Breanna Malancon  

Cynthia Mitchell

Dina Perkins

Shawna Pillette

Doris Poindexter

Diamonique Pollard 

Shannon Saulsberry  

Markquelyn Ursin  

Trieonne Washington

Charlene Williams


Past Chapter Presidents

Mary Carpenter


Erika Love


Starlette Gordon


bottom of page